The Lede
Karnataka: Grandsons to defend Deve Gowda’s bastions of Hassan and Mandya
2019 Polls

Karnataka: Grandsons to defend Deve Gowda’s bastions of Hassan and Mandya



Karnataka Chief Minister HD Kumaraswamy, Nikhil Gowda, Chennamma Deve Gowda, HD Deve Gowda Pic credit: Twitter/hd_kumaraswamy

An emotional JD(S) supremo HD Deve Gowda announced on March 13 that his grandson Prajwal Revanna would contest the Lok Sabha election from his Hassan seat; another grandson Nikhil Gowda is likely to fight from Mandya

Karnataka’s ruling coalition partner Janata Dal (Secular) supremo and former Prime Minister HD Deve Gowda on Wednesday, March 13 said his grandson Prajwal Revanna will contest the ensuing Lok Sabha election on April 18 and 23, from Hassan.

Gowda, who hails from Holenarasipura in Hassan district, about 180 km west of Bengaluru, is a six-time Lok Sabha member from the constituency since 1991, when he first got elected to the lower House. “I have decided that I will not be contesting the Lok Sabha elections from here (Hassan constituency),” a teary-eyed Gowda told a party gathering, kicking off the political campaign for the elections.

Gowda announced that his grandson Revanna, son of state’s Public Works Department Minister HD Revanna (brother of Chief Minister HD Kumaraswamy), will be contesting from the constituency instead.

Another grandson of Gowda, Nikhil Kumaraswamy, son of HD Kumaraswamy, is also likely to contest the upcoming Lok Sabha elections from Mandya seat.

Gowda, however, will be contesting the Lok Sabha elections from another constituency, which he is yet to announce. Speculation is rife that it is likely to be from the Vokkaliga-dominated urban seat of Bengaluru (North), which is in the JD(S) kitty after seat division was finalised with its coalition partner, Congress.

Congress to contest 20 Karnataka LS seats, JD(S) 8

Earlier in the day, the ruling coalition reached the seat-sharing agreement after a meeting between Congress President Rahul Gandhi and JD(S) Secretary General Danish Ali in Kochi, under which they will contest 20 and 8 Lok Sabha constituencies respectively.

“Congress and JD-S seat-sharing for Karnataka #LokSabhaPolls2019 is confirmed. 20 for Congress and 8 for JD-S,” state Congress President Dinesh Gundu Rao tweeted.

Karnataka: Grandsons to defend Deve Gowda’s bastions of Hassan and Mandya

The JD(S) will contest from Uttara Kannada, Chikkamagaluru, Shivamogga, Tumakuru, Hassan, Mandya, Bengaluru North and Vijayapura Lok Sabha seats.

Congress will field its candidates from Chikkodi, Belagavi, Bagalkot, Haveri, Raichur, Kalaburagi, Bidar, Koppal, Ballari, Davanagere, Chitradurga, Dharwad, Dakshina Kannada, Mysuru, Chamarajanagar, Bengaluru Central, Bengaluru South, Bengaluru Rural, Kolar and Chikkaballapura.

Inputs by Team Lede